When Deadly Force Is Involved

A Look at the Legal Side of Stand Your Ground, Duty to Retreat, and Other Questions of Self-Defense

Author: Bruce M. Lawlor

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 1442275294

Category: Law

Page: 304

View: 8440

Misinformation about self-defense rights and laws is what has sparked major debate over the misapplication of lethal force in civilian communities. Bruce Lawlor identifies the major issues in self-defense cases, and the legal approaches used to resolve them. The result is less confusion and greater understanding of what self-defense is, and how to go about determining if a homicide is self-defense or murder.

Reasonable, Justified and Necessary

Exploring the Professional, Physical and Psychological Complexities of Deadly Force

Author: Dan Bernoulli

Publisher: Looseleaf Law Publications

ISBN: 9781608851348

Category: Political Science

Page: 164

View: 6697

Here is a book designed to share usable information relative to the use of deadly force and spark critical thought and discussion centered on this extremely important topic that can improve training, officer performance and an agency's investigation of an officer involved shooting.

The Art of War

A New Translation

Author: Sun Tzu

Publisher: Amber Books Ltd

ISBN: 1909160199

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 96

View: 6318

Written in the 6th century BC, Sun Tzu’s The Art of War is still used as a book of military strategy today. Napoleon, Mae Zedong, General Vo Nguyen Giap and General Douglas MacArthur all claimed to have drawn inspiration from it. And beyond the world of war, business and management gurus have also applied Sun Tzu’s ideas to office politics and corporate strategy. Using a new translation by James Trapp and including editorial notes, this edition of The Art of War lays the original Chinese text opposite the modern English translation. The book contains the full original 13 chapters on such topics as laying plans, attacking by stratagem, weaponry, terrain and the use of spies. Sun Tzu addresses different campaign situations, marching, energy and how to exploit your enemy’s weaknesses. Of immense influence to great leaders across millennia, The Art of War is a classic text richly deserving this exquisite edition.

Criminology: The Core

Author: Larry J. Siegel

Publisher: Cengage Learning

ISBN: 128596554X

Category: Social Science

Page: 528

View: 349

Concise, current, and affordable, best-selling CRIMINOLOGY: THE CORE, Fifth Edition delivers cutting-edge coverage in a succinct, reader-friendly paperback. Author Larry Siegel guides users through the fast-paced field of criminology, its most current research, and fascinating examples that help readers truly understand criminological theory. The book effectively uses real-world material to clarify criminology's concepts and theories. Highlighting the interdisciplinary nature of the field, it also offers unbiased coverage of even the most controversial issues--enabling readers to form their own opinions. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

The Wretched of the Earth

Author: Frantz Fanon

Publisher: Grove/Atlantic, Inc.

ISBN: 9780802198853

Category: Political Science

Page: 320

View: 7115

Frantz Fanon was one of the twentieth century’s most important theorists of revolution, colonialism, and racial difference, and this, his masterwork, is a classic alongside Orientalism and The Autobiography of Malcolm X. The Wretched of the Earth is a brilliant analysis of the psychology of the colonized and their path to liberation. Bearing singular insight into the rage of colonized peoples and the role of violence in historical change, the book also incisively attacks postindependence disenfranchisement of the masses by the elite on one hand, and intertribal and interfaith animosities on the other. A veritable handbook of social reorganization for leaders of emerging nations, The Wretched of the Earth has had a major impact on civil rights, anticolonialism, and black-consciousness movements around the world. This new translation updates its language for a new generation of readers and its lessons are more vital now than ever.

My Partner, My Enemy

An Unflinching View of Domestic Violence and New Ways to Protect Victims

Author: John Michael Leventhal

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 1442265175

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 320

View: 2612

Domestic violence and abuse can unfortunately happen to anyone and is so often overlooked. In My Partner, My Enemy, Hon. John Michael Leventhal opens the readers’ eyes to the problem by looking at true cases of domestic violence, and offering solutions and resources to aid in the effort to help stop the problem.

Prosilience

Building Your Resilience for a Turbulent World

Author: Linda L. Hoopes

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780998781709

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 8987

Resilience is about how you respond to challenges. Prosilience is about how you intentionally prepare yourself to deal with them. Everyone encounters challenges in life. While some can be energizing and exciting, others are difficult and draining. You can learn to overcome adversity by understanding the elements of resilience and deliberately practicing them. Bringing together insights from a wide range of fields including psychology, neuroscience, physiology, and spirituality, Prosilience: Building Your Resilience for a Turbulent World helps you assess your readiness for challenge and design a plan to become even stronger. You will learn: * How to assess a challenge so you can better prepare to deal with it * The importance of paying attention to "micro-challenges" * Why calming down is the first step to a resilient response-and how to do it * Three strategies for dealing with challenges-and how to select the best one * Seven resilience muscles that help you solve problems-and exercises to strengthen them * Four kinds of energy that power your resilience-and how to build and replenish them * Tools and exercises for building your Prosilience Plan

The Law of Self-defense in North Carolina

Author: John Rubin

Publisher: University of North Carolina Inst of

ISBN: 9781560112457

Category: Law

Page: 215

View: 9886

This book analyzes North Carolina's criminal law on self-defense and other defenses involving defensive force, such as defense of others and defense of habitation. It explains the rules governing the use of defensive force and includes extensive citations to relevant North Carolina case law. The book also discusses issues that commonly arise in the trial of self-defense cases, including evidentiary issues, burdens of proof, and jury instructions.

No Duty to Retreat

Violence and Values in American History and Society

Author: Richard Maxwell Brown

Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press

ISBN: 9780806126180

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 268

View: 4002

In 1865, Wild Bill Hickok killed Dave Tutt in a Missouri public square in the West’s first notable "walkdown." One hundred and twenty-nine years later, Bernard Goetz shot four threatening young men in a New York subway car. Apart from gunfire, what do the two events have in common? Goetz, writes Richard Maxwell Brown, was acquitted of wrongdoing in the spirit of a uniquely American view of self-defense, a view forged in frontier gunfights like Hickok’s. When faced with a deadly threat, we have the right to stand our ground and fight. We have no duty to retreat.

Leslie's

Author: John Albert Sleicher

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 3162


The Writs of Assistance Case

Author: Maurice Henry Smith

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 9780520033498

Category: Law

Page: 589

View: 4465

In 1767, James Otis, Jr.--on behalf of Boston merchants--led a challenge on writs of assistance authorizing customs officials to invade private property in search of smuggled merchandise.

Sapiens

A Brief History of Humankind

Author: Yuval Noah Harari

Publisher: Signal

ISBN: 9780771038518

Category:

Page: 464

View: 2468

Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come? In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical -- and sometimes devastating -- breakthroughs of the Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, palaeontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behaviour from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come? Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power...and our future.

Gunfight: The Battle Over the Right to Bear Arms in America

Author: Adam Winkler

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 9780393345834

Category: History

Page: 384

View: 4022

"Author Adam Winkler, a professor of Constitutional law, uses the landmark 2008 case District of Columbia v. Heller, which invalidated a law banning handguns in the nation's Capitol, as a springboard for a historical narrative of America's four-centuries-long political battle over gun control and the right to bear arms. From the Founding Fathers and the Second Amendment to the origins of the Ku Klux Klan, ironically as a gun control organization, the debate over guns has always generated controversy. Whether examining the Black Panthers' role in provoking the modern gun rights movement or Ronald Reagan's efforts to curtail gun ownership, Winkler weaves together the dramatic stories of gun rights advocates and gun control lobbyists, providing often unexpected insights into the venomous debate that now cleaves our nation"--Provided by publisher.

How To Win Friends and Influence People

Author: Dale Carnegie

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781451621716

Category: Self-Help

Page: 320

View: 3856

You can go after the job you want—and get it! You can take the job you have—and improve it! You can take any situation—and make it work for you! Dale Carnegie’s rock-solid, time-tested advice has carried countless people up the ladder of success in their business and personal lives. One of the most groundbreaking and timeless bestsellers of all time, How to Win Friends & Influence People will teach you: -Six ways to make people like you -Twelve ways to win people to your way of thinking -Nine ways to change people without arousing resentment And much more! Achieve your maximum potential—a must-read for the twenty-first century with more than 15 million copies sold!