The Sword in the Stone (Disney)

Author: Carl Memling

Publisher: Golden/Disney

ISBN: 0736433732

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 24

View: 3472

The classic Disney story of how a poor, lowly page ends up as the King of England--with a little help from Merlin the wizard--will delight boys and girls ages 2 to 5. Based on the classic Walt Disney animated movie, this Little Golden Book retelling of The Sword in the Stone was first published in 1963.

The Once and Future King

Author: T. H. White

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101657545

Category: Fiction

Page: 656

View: 4962

T. H. White’s masterful retelling of the saga of King Arthur is a fantasy classic as legendary as Excalibur and Camelot, and a poignant story of adventure, romance and magic that has enchanted readers for generations. Once upon a time, a young boy called “Wart” was tutored by a magician named Merlyn in preparation for a future he couldn’t possibly imagine. A future in which he would ally himself with the greatest knights, love a legendary queen and unite a country dedicated to chivalrous values. A future that would see him crowned and known for all time as Arthur, King of the Britons. During Arthur’s reign, the kingdom of Camelot was founded to cast enlightenment on the Dark Ages, while the knights of the Round Table embarked on many a noble quest. But Merlyn foresaw the treachery that awaited his liege: the forbidden love between Queen Guenever and Lancelot, the wicked plots of Arthur’s half-sister Morgause and the hatred she fostered in Mordred that would bring an end to the king’s dreams for Britain—and to the king himself. “[The Once and Future King] mingles wisdom, wonderful, laugh-out-loud humor and deep sorrow—while telling one of the great tales of the Western world.”—Guy Gavriel Kay

Bill Peet

An Autobiography

Author: Bill Peet

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780395689820

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 190

View: 8187

The well-known author and illustrator relates the story of his life and work.

The Lost Years

Author: T. A. Barron

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 110164186X

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 352

View: 8643

A raging sea tosses a boy upon the shores of ancient Wales. Left for dead, he has no memory, no name, and no home. But it is his determination to find out who he is—to learn the truth about his mysterious powers—that leads him to a strange and enchanted land. And it is there he discovers that the fate of this land and his personal quest are strangely entwined.

Arthur and the Sword

Author: Robert Sabuda

Publisher: Turtleback

ISBN: 9780606154420

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 7675

In this retelling which features stained glass illustrations, young Arthur proves himself to be the rightful heir to the throne by being the only one able to pull the sword from the steel anvil.

The Disney Middle Ages

A Fairy-Tale and Fantasy Past

Author: T. Pugh,S. Aronstein

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 113706692X

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 298

View: 8835

For many, the middle ages depicted in Walt Disney movies have come to figure as the middle ages, forming the earliest visions of the medieval past for much of the contemporary Western (and increasingly Eastern) imagination. The essayists of The Disney Middle Ages explore Disney's mediation and re-creation of a fairy-tale and fantasy past, not to lament its exploitation of the middle ages for corporate ends, but to examine how and why these medieval visions prove so readily adaptable to themed entertainments many centuries after their creation. What results is a scrupulous and comprehensive examination of the intersection between the products of the Disney Corporation and popular culture's fascination with the middle ages.

Sweet Black Waves

Author: Kristina Perez

Publisher: Imprint

ISBN: 125013286X

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 384

View: 2121

For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this lush fantasy about warring countries and forbidden romance will have readers entranced. As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what's right, even as her powers grow, will set Branwen against her best friend and the only man she's ever loved. Kristina Pérez's debut features star-crossed lovers who changed the fate two nations. Inspired by the legend of Tristan and Iseult, this is the story of the legend’s true heroine: Branwen. An Imprint Book “Star-crossed love, tested loyalties, and magic that binds and burns—Sweet Black Waves gripped me all the way to the shocking ending.” —Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere and The Ship Beyond Time “Intense, swoon worthy, and smart.” —Vic James, author of Gilded Cage and Tarnished City “An enchanting story of fierce friendship and dangerous love . . . Pérez has written a book that whispers the sound of the ocean as you turn each page.” —Alice Broadway, author of the Ink Trilogy “Fans of Joan Wolf’s Dark Ages of Britain trilogy and Tessa Gratton’s The Queens of Innis Lear will enjoy this dreamy tale, which is carried along with vibrant descriptions and intense emotion.” —RT Reviews “The female characters are vivid, powerful, and passionate...a thrilling roller coaster.” —Kirkus Reviews

The Black Cauldron

Author: Lloyd Alexander

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company (BYR)

ISBN: 1429961929

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 192

View: 5000

The Black Cauldron, the Newbery Medal-winning second book in Lloyd Alexander's The Chronicles of Prydain In the land of Prydain, evil is never far away. Arawn, Lord of the Land of Death, has been building an army of dark warriors to take over Prydain, and the only way to stop him is to destroy the Black Cauldron he uses to create his dreaded soldiers. Taran, Assistant Pig-Keeper, and his loyal companions must journey deep into Arawn's domain to destroy the Black Cauldron. For each of them, the quest has special meaning. For Taran, it is a glorious opportunity to use his first sword in battle. But war requires a sacrifice greater than he'd ever imagined. . . . Includes a new pronunciation guide. This title has Common Core connections.

Merlin and the Making of the King

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780823416479

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 39

View: 2982

Merlin the magician watches over the young King Arthur while the nefarious witch Morgan le Fay and the traitor Mordred plot Arthur's demise, in a collection of three Arthurian tales.

A Brief History of Walt Disney

Author: Brian Robb

Publisher: Robinson

ISBN: 1472110722

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 160

View: 7747

Both a fascinating account of Walt Disney?s own significant artistic creations, from the iconic Mickey Mouse to the groundbreaking Snow White in 1937, and an insightful history of the hugely successful entertainment behemoth he created, from Dumbo to Pixar?s Toy Story, as well as the hugely popular theme parks. But Disney?s dark side is also explored: his disputed parentage; industrial disputes; his work for the FBI; and his anti-Communist and allegedly racist and antisemitic views. The company Disney built is today stronger than ever, encompassing not only the ongoing legacy of Disney animation, but also acting as the guardian of other well-loved creative endeavours, such as Pixar, The Muppets, Marvel Comics and now Star Wars. Sections include `Before Mickey: The Road to the Mouse House?, covering from 1901 to 1945 ? the creation of Mickey Mouse, the creation of the world?s first full-length animated feature film, the Golden Age of animation and Disney?s help for the American war effort, despite labour disputes; `Disney Studios: The Disney Genius? ? difficult times, theme parks and television, live-action movies, including Mary Poppins; `Animation?s Second Coming?, from the Lady and the Tramp to The Sword in the Stone, and Walt Disney?s death; `After Walt: The Disney Legacy? ? family attempts to keep the studio afloat, decline and the loss of lustre in the 1970s and 1980s; `Disney Resurgent? ? a triumphant rebirth under new management with Who Framed Roger Rabbit? The Lion King and other blockbuster hits; `From Eisner to Iger? ? the corporate battle for the soul of Disney; `Disney Goes Digital? ? from Pixar to Star Wars, via Marvel Comics and The Muppets, Disney buyy up other studios, themselves often enough inspired by the original.

Parents' Guide

Author: Disney Enterprises Inc,Jamie Simons

Publisher: Advance Publishers LLC

ISBN: 9781579730154

Category: Reading

Page: 44

View: 2735

A supplement to Disney's storytime treasures library containing ideas for discussion, crafts, and activities for each title in the set.

3-book Fantasy Collection: The Sword in the Stone; The Phantom Tollbooth; Charmed Life (Collins Modern Classics)

Author: T. H. White,Norton Juster,Diana Wynne Jones

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008236674

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 928

View: 7046

Three magical fantasy books are brought together in an exclusive ebook bind-up: ‘The Sword in the Stone’, ‘The Phantom Tollbooth’ and ‘Charmed Life’.

The Little Mermaid

Author: Hans Christian Andersen

Publisher: Scandinavia Publishing House

ISBN: 8771326820

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 34

View: 7268

Thirty of Hans Christian Andersen's most cherished stories in single volumes Illustrator various artists. Known all over the world, these fairytales hold stories of great value and are a source of inspiration for both young and old.

Robin Hood

Author: N. R. Stinnet

Publisher: Smithmark Publishers

ISBN: 9780831716486

Category: Robin Hood (Legendary character)

Page: 60

View: 6315

The story of the life and adventures of Robin Hood and his band of followers. They lived in Sherwood Forest as outlaws who were dedicated to fighting tyranny.