Thornspell

Author: Helen Lowe

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 0375891501

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 312

View: 9259

Helen Lowe reimagines the Sleeping Beauty story from the point of view of the prince who is destined to wake the enchanted princess in this lush, romantic fantasy-adventure. Prince Sigismund has grown up hearing fantastical stories about enchantments and faie spells, basilisks and dragons, knights-errant and heroic quests. He'd love for them to be true—he's been sheltered in a country castle for most of his life and longs for adventure—but they are just stories. Or are they? From the day that a mysterious lady in a fine carriage speaks to him through the castle gates, Sigismund's world starts to shift. He begins to dream of a girl wrapped, trapped, in thorns. He dreams of a palace, utterly still, waiting. He dreams of a man in red armor, riding a red horse—and then suddenly that man arrives at the castle! Sigismund is about to learn that sometimes dreams are true, that the world is both more magical and more dangerous than he imagined, and that the heroic quest he imagined for himself as a boy . . . begins now. From the Hardcover edition.

Donnergrollen, hör mein Schrei'n

Roman

Author: Mildred D. Taylor,Heike Brandt

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783407780713

Category: Children's stories, American

Page: 233

View: 9004

In Mississippi during the Great Depression of the 1930's, the Logans are one of the few black families who own their own land. Nine year old Cassie Logan doesn't understand why her parents attach so much importance to this, any more than she understands the Night Riders-- white men who terrorize her people.

Ice - Hüter des Nordens

Author: Sarah Beth Durst

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3802587413

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 3909

Die junge Cassie lebt mit ihrem Vater auf einer Forschungsstation in der Arktis. Ihre Mutter ist angeblich bei ihrer Geburt gestorben, doch Cassie wächst mit rätselhaften Geschichten über ihren Tod auf. Kurz vor Cassies achtzehntem Geburtstag kommt es zu einer merkwürdigen Begebenheit: Cassie trifft auf einen Eisbären, der zu ihr spricht und ihr berichtet, dass die alten Legenden wahr sind. Ihre Mutter ist noch am Leben und wird in der Festung der Trolle gefangen gehalten. Doch um sie zu befreien, muss Cassie den Eisbären heiraten, der sich des Nachts in einen Menschen verwandelt. Zwischen Cassie und dem magischen Wesen entwickelt sich eine zarte Liebe, die jedoch von einem geheimnisvollen Fluch bedroht wird ...

abends um 10

Author: Kate de Goldi

Publisher: CARLSEN Verlag

ISBN: 3646920920

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 6972

In Frankies Parsons Leben ist alles verlässlich. Konstant. Vorhersehbar. Sogar die ständige Ergänzung seiner sowieso schon langen Liste von Sorgen. Tageslauf, Wochenplan, Jahresrhythmus - nichts ändert sich. Das Morgenmiauen der Fettkontrolle. Der tägliche Zickzack-Weg zum Bus mit seinem besten Freund Gigs. Die schlechte Laune seiner großen Schwester. Sein Klassenlehrer Mr A und dessen liebste Waffe: das Wörterbuch. Die Klangwand-Abende von Onkel George und Louie. Die ausgelassenen Besuche der Tanten. Der Küchenduft bei der Heimkehr. Und die absolut zuverlässige Antworten seinerMutter- immer abends um zehn. Doch dieses Jahr ist alles anders. Das liegt an Sydney. An ihren liebevollen, neugierigen, taktlosen Fragen. Und Frankie Parsons Welt gerät aus den Fugen. Eine bittersüße Familiengeschichte über Angst und Mut und darüber, was das Leben ausmacht.

Relics

Author: Pip Vaughan-Hughes

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409139077

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 8647

'Pip Vaughan-Hughes has given us a monk, a corpse, a sinister Templar and a terrific adventure that romps across mediaeval Christendom. A great read!' Bernard Cornwell England, 1235, and Brother Petroc is living a simple life as a novice monk. Struggling to keep his soul fairly clean and worrying most about resisting the local girls, he inadvertently stumbles headlong into vicious trap. Framed by a sinister Templar Knight for a brutal murder of a church official and accused of the theft of a priceless relic, he is forced to run for his life. But when his best friend Will is killed by the chasing knight, Petroc's flight becomes a quest for restitution. Trusting his fate to an enigmatic relic-hunter and scoundrel, he must dodge the long arm of the church and somehow get to the bottom of everything that has happened to him. He must find out how his fate is entwined with that of the sacred object and get revenge on the man who wrecked his life - all the while avoiding the pitfalls and perils of love for a beautiful Greek princess...

Shadow Star

Book Three of the Saga Based on the Movie Willow

Author: Chris Claremont,George Lucas

Publisher: Spectra

ISBN: 1984800043

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 9733

In Shadow Moon and Shadow Dawn, George Lucas, creator of Star Wars, and Chris Claremont, author of the bestselling X-Men adventures, created a new world of myth, magic, and legend unlike any before. Now they bring their epic trilogy to an unforgettable conclusion in a novel of blazing imaginative brilliance... Elora Danan has done the unthinkable. She has slain the dragons that were the embodiment of the soul of Creation. It was a desperate act--the only way to save the dragons from the Deceiver, who would have used them to rule the Realms. Yet in Elora's possession are two last dragon eggs. To protect them, Elora spellbinds herself to her faithful companions Thorn Drumheller, the Nelwyn sorcerer and her sworn guardian, and Khory Bannefin, the long-dead woman warrior whose body is inhabited by a demon's offspring. It is a dire spell that ensures none of them will betray their cause...even at the cost of their lives. And if one of them dies, the magic of the eggs is lost forever. Pursued through a land of shadow predators by the dreaded Black Rose, the Deceiver's commando assassins, Elora and her allies must reach the free city-state of Sandeni. There they will be reunited with old friends: the brownies Franjean and Rool, the eagles Anele and Bastian, and the young warrior-scribe Luc-Jon. But Sandeni is besieged by mighty armies fueled by the Deceiver's sorcery, warrior wizards, and engines of evil magic. With defeat all but certain, Elora must convince the Sandeni people to continue the fight. What she doesn't tell them is that the greatest enemy lies within her. For the Deceiver is her own dark twin from a potential future of unimaginable evil...an evil that lies dormant in Elora's soul. And the only way Elora can stop the future is to befriend an enemy whose insatiable appetite for destruction could destroy all of Creation. Or is that, too, part of the Deceiver's plan? Seamlessly weaving together the many strands of this rich tapestry, Shadow Star is guaranteed to satisfy its many fans...and leave them breathless.

Englisches Lesebuch, Oder Auserlesene Sammlung Von Aufsätzen Aus Den Besten Englischen Schriftstellern Mit Richtiger Accentuation Jedes Wortes und Darunter Gesetzter Aussprache Nach Walker U. A.

Eine Brauchbare Zugabe Für Jede Englische Sprachlehre

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 304

View: 9728


Piraten der Nacht

Author: Ross Mackenzie

Publisher: Chicken House

ISBN: 3646921064

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 352

View: 7062

Eine Gestalt löst sich aus der Dunkelheit. Wo eigentlich ein Gesicht sein sollte, sitzt ein leuchtender Totenkopf. Langsam bewegt sie sich auf Zac zu. Und dann ... wacht Zac auf. Zum Glück hat er nur schlecht geträumt! Doch die Albträume häufen sich. Nicht nur bei Zac, sondern bei allen, fast wie eine Epidemie. Und sie verändern die Menschen, machen sie gewalttätig und krank. Seltsamerweise scheint Zacs Oma mehr darüber zu wissen. Und so folgt Zac ihr eines Nachts heimlich und landet in einer Welt jenseits seiner Vorstellungskraft. Eine Welt, wo Träume entstehen und Piraten der Nacht Finsteres im Sinn haben. Wo sich das Schicksal der Menschheit entscheiden wird ...

Daughter of Blood

The Wall of Night Book Three

Author: Helen Lowe

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0062198122

Category: Fiction

Page: 768

View: 2098

A Gemmell Award-Winning Series Malian of Night and Kalan, her trusted ally, are returning to the Wall of Night—but already it may be too late. The Wall is dangerously weakened, the Nine Houses of the Derai fractured by rivalry and hate. And now, the Darkswarm is rising . . . Among Grayharbor backstreets, an orphan boy falls foul of dark forces. On the Wall, a Daughter of Blood must be married off to the Earl of Night, a pawn in the web of her family's ambition. On the Field of Blood, Kalan fights for a place in the bride's honor guard, while Malian dodges deadly pursuers in a hunt against time for the fabled Shield of Heaven. But the Darkswarm is gaining strength, and time is running out—for Malian, for Kalan, and for all of Haarth . . .

The Gathering of the Lost

The Wall of Night Book Two

Author: Helen Lowe

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062096443

Category: Fiction

Page: 672

View: 4063

“Strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world.” —Robin Hobb, author of Dragon Haven “[Lowe] reinvigorates the epic fantasy with appealing characters and a richly detailed world.” —Library Journal Sure to become an epic fantasy classic, Helen Lowe’s magnificent Wall of Night series is big, ambitious, and gorgeously drawn—a story of bravery, treachery, and cataclysm in a richly imagined world. The Gathering of the Lost is the second of four books set in a fantastic imperiled realm garrisoned by nine great Houses and protected from the terrible Darkswarm by the towering mountain range that gives the series its name. Supremely literate, brilliantly imagined and executed fantasy in the vein of Brandon Sanderson, Guy Gavriel Kay, and Barbara Hambly, The Gathering of the Lost is populated by a grand cast of unforgettable characters, some still holding to the beleaguered Wall, others scattered in their quest for the fabled Heir of Night, who vanished from their midst five years earlier.

Der Sternenbaum

Roman

Author: Kate Forsyth

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783442242863

Category: Fantasy fiction

Page: 477

View: 496


Charmed

Author: Catherine Hart

Publisher: Zebra Books

ISBN: 9780821754412

Category: Fiction

Page: 408

View: 1858

Discovering a magnificent Shawnee amulet that had been buried in 1813 by a great warrior, Silver Thorn, history teacher Nikki Swan is swept into the Native American's world and learns that he is the brother of the great Tecumseh. Original.