Die Zuflucht

Corrie ten Boom erzählt aus ihrem Leben 1892-1945

Author: Corrie ten Boom

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783775156301

Category:

Page: 280

View: 5860


Die Zuflucht

Corrie ten Boom erzählt aus ihrem Leben ; 1892 - 1945

Author: Corrie Ten Boom

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783775152846

Category:

Page: 238

View: 3291


The Hiding Place

Author: Corrie Ten Boom,Elizabeth Sherill,John Sherrill

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444717243

Category: Religion

Page: 224

View: 7475

Despite the danger and threat of discovery, the ten Boom family courageously offered shelter to persecuted Jews during the Nazi occupation of Holland. Then a trap brought about the family's arrest. Could God's love shine through, even in Ravensbruck?

The Hiding Place (Study Guide)

BookCaps Study Guide

Author: BookCaps Study Guides Staff

Publisher: BookCaps Study Guides

ISBN: 1621070956

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: N.A

View: 7315

The perfect companion to Corrie ten Boom’s The Hiding Place," this study guide contains a chapter by chapter analysis of the book, a summary of the plot, and a guide to major characters and themes. BookCap Study Guides do not contain text from the actual book, and are not meant to be purchased as alternatives to reading the book. We all need refreshers every now and then. Whether you are a student trying to cram for that big final, or someone just trying to understand a book more, BookCaps can help. We are a small, but growing company, and are adding titles every month.

The Hiding Place

Author: Jeff Whitty

Publisher: Dramatists Play Service Inc

ISBN: 9780822222439

Category: Drama

Page: 53

View: 938

THE STORY: When Myra, an aspiring playwright and waitress, meets Karl, a well-regarded (and married) novelist, a romantic and imbalanced relationship begins. As their exchanges move beyond letter-writing to the beginning of an affair, Karl drops My

Return to the Hiding Place

Author: Hans Poley

Publisher: Chariot Family Pub

ISBN: 9780781409322

Category: History

Page: 205

View: 769

By 1943, the Nazi pogroms that began in 1938 had penetrated the borders of Netherlands. "Voor Joden Verboden" (for Jews Forbidden) signs appeared in public places. Rumors of death camps and racial genocide turned out to be true. Nationwide raids on universities resulted in mass deportations of dissenting professors and students to forced labor in Germany.

Life Lessons from The Hiding Place

Discovering the Heart of Corrie Ten Boom

Author: Pam Rosewell Moore

Publisher: Chosen Books

ISBN: 0800793544

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 609

These never-before-published insights on an amazing servant of God help readers apply Corrie's lessons to their own lives.

The Hiding Place

Author: David Bell

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 1405910593

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 1968

David Bell's The Hiding Place is a powerful psychological thriller delving into the secrets of a damaged family in small-town America. Sometimes it's easier to believe a lie . . . Twenty-five-years ago, four-year-old Justin Manning disappeared. Two months later his body was found in a shallow grave in the woods, shocking the small town of Dove Point, Ohio. Janet Manning has been haunted by her brother's death since the day she lost sight of him in the park. Now, a detective and a reporter are asking questions, raising new suspicions and opening old wounds. But if the man jailed for the murder is innocent, who did kill Justin? At the same time a stranger appears at Janet's door claiming to know the truth and a high school friend returns, with his own confused memories of what happened. Janet thought she'd put the past and guilt behind her. But now the truth about her brother is heartbreakingly close - has she the courage to find it? Immerse yourself in David Bell's wonderfully gripping UK debut The Hiding Place and unravel the truth which lies buried in Janet's past. A wonderful treat for all fans of Kate Atkinson and Dennis Lehane. Praise for David Bell's Cemetery Girl: 'David Bell writes spellbinding and gripping thrillers that get under your skin and refuse to let go' Linwood Barclay 'Reads like a collaboration between Michael Connelly and the gothic fiction of Joyce Carol Oates . . . A winner on every level' Will Lavender 'A haunting meditation on the ties that bind parent to child, husband to wife, brother to brother. An absolutely riveting, absorbing read not to be missed' Lisa Unger David Bell is an assistant professor of English at Western Kentucky University. He received an M.A. in creative writing from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, and a Ph.D. in American Literature and creative writing from the University of Cincinnati. Cemetery Girl was David Bell's first novel - The Hiding Place is his second.

The Hiding Place

Author: Karen Harper

Publisher: MIRA

ISBN: 1488038368

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 6548

“The tension steadily escalates to a pulse-pounding climax.”—Publishers Weekly After spending nine months in a coma, Tara Kinsale awakes to devastating news. Her best friend, Alexis, has been murdered, leaving Tara as guardian to her daughter, Claire. And Tara’s husband has divorced her for another woman. Forced to start over, Tara focuses on reopening her P.I. firm and caring for Claire. But soon her world is shattered again when Nick MacMahon, Claire’s uncle, returns from military service in Afghanistan to take guardianship of his niece. The bad dream turns unbearable when Tara learns that something precious was taken from her while she was in a coma. Working with Nick, a man haunted by his own past, Tara begins to investigate the missing months of her life. Together, they will find that secrets don’t stay buried forever...even when they are kept in the darkest of hiding places. Originally published in 2008

The Hiding Place

Author: Margot Dalton

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1459277880

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 6489

Women Who Dare Laurel Atchison—or Laurie Atkins, as she is now calling herself—doesn't dare tell her new neighbors who she really is or why she's come to Wolf Hill, Alberta. Fortunately, the trusting folk of the small town don't ask too many questions. Until the arrival of another newcomer, the mysterious—and very attractive—Jonas O'Neal. Now the whole town is abuzz, and Laurel is the focus of their interest. Why does this stranger make her nervous? they want to know. Who is he and why is he so interested in her? These are questions Laurel can't answer. All she knows for sure is that she has to keep her secret—and her heart—intact. Women Who Dare

THE HIDING PLACE

Author: John Burley

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007559518

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 1248

She can’t reach him ... but he can get to her ... A chilling twisty tale of cat and mouse – perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Harlan Coben.

In My Father's House

The Years Before the Hiding Place

Author: Corrie Ten Boom

Publisher: Lighthouse Trails Publishing

ISBN: 9780984636624

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 197

View: 3493

In My Father's House is the story of Corrie's life with her mother, father, and the rest of her family before they began hiding Jewish people in their home. This book is a testament to how God prepared one family through a father's faithfulness to his Savior and the Word of God for the most sacrificial service a family could do. Beginning in the years before Corrie was born, it tells the story of Corrie's father, who was a loving husband to Corrie's mother and no ordinary man—he was determined to raise his children in the ways of the Lord. The book describes the extension of her father's devotion to God as Corrie herself becomes committed to the ministry of young people throughout her young adult life. All of this prepared her for her role in helping to save the lives of hundreds of Jews.

The Hiding Place

Picador Classic

Author: Trezza Azzopardi

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1509827633

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 9451

With an introduction by D J Taylor My father would have flipped a coin and watched his fate come twirling down to earth. Dolores is the youngest of six daughters. Growing up in the 1960s in Cardiff's poverty stricken Tiger Bay, her life is cursed from the start when, on the day of her birth, her father gambles and loses everything on a bet that Delores will be a boy. As Dolores grows older, we see this strange underworld through her eyes: Tiger Bay is a place of gaming rooms and cafes, of crumbling houses and burning secrets, and for Dolores and her sisters, their home is a dangerous place, filled equally by fear and love. Thirty years later, the estranged sisters return to Tiger Bay for their mother's funeral. It is a time of consolation, of memories and nightmares, and a chance for Dolores to understand the tragedy that has shaped her existence. The Hiding Place is a deeply moving and intensely lyrical novel about love and betrayal. Shortlisted for the 2000 Booker Prize, it portrays the life of a child condemned forever to bear the mark of a disintegrating family.

A Study Guide for Jorie Graham's "The Hiding Place"

Author: Gale, Cengage Learning

Publisher: Gale, Cengage Learning

ISBN: 1410348040

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 17

View: 5545

A Study Guide for Jorie Graham's "The Hiding Place," excerpted from Gale's acclaimed Poetry for Students. This concise study guide includes plot summary; character analysis; author biography; study questions; historical context; suggestions for further reading; and much more. For any literature project, trust Poetry for Students for all of your research needs.

The Hiding Place

Be Not Deceived

Author: Paulette C. Hammack

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN: 1512795925

Category: Religion

Page: 116

View: 7257

The Hiding Place is her second book that is in story form and is about the prospects of how the world may be facing daily life in turbulent times and with the help of the spiritual realm, eyes are opened, and ears can hear. It is intriguing and suspenseful, a must-read book. Be on guard. You never know when the thief may come. Be awake and alert for what is before you might not be what it seems to be. Do not be deceived.

Tramp for the Lord

The Story that Begins Where The Hiding Place Ends

Author: Corrie ten Boom

Publisher: CLC Publications

ISBN: 1936143585

Category: Religion

Page: 206

View: 7567

“It was in a church in Munich that I saw him.... “One moment I saw the overcoat and the brow hat; the next, a blue uniform and a visored cap with its skull and crossbones. It came back with a rush: The place was Ravensbruck and the man who was making his way forward has been a guard—one of the most cruel guards. “Now he was in front of me, hand thrust out. I was face to face with one of my captors and my blood seemed to freeze. “‘Fraulein, will you forgive me?’” Communicating her experience of God’s guidance, forgiveness and power, Corrie was still challenged to live fully the truths she had learned. In her imprisonment and later her world travels, her life continued to declare that “there is no pit so deep that Jesus’ love is not deeper still.”