The Complete Scarlet Traces

Author: Ian Edginton

Publisher: 2000 AD

ISBN: 9781781085028

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 144

View: 4194

The celebrated comic book sequel to H.G. Wells' War of the Worlds in a brand new omnibus edition. The ground-breaking series from Ian Edginton and D'Israeli is collected in this the first of two volumes. Starting with their visionary adaptation of the original novel, the collection also includes the first of three sequel stories set a decade after the Martian invasion. Great Britain has cannibalised Martian technology and now Hansom cabs scuttle along on multi-limbed crab legs, and the Martian heat-ray has become the weapon with which the British Empire dominates the world. When the bodies of several young women are found washed up on the banks of the Thames Captain Robert Autumn, retired solider and adventurer,and his former Sergeant-Major Archie Currie are drawn into a mystery that leads them from gin palaces to the corridors of power and the very Hall of the Martian King.

Scarlet Traces

The Great Game

Author: Ian Edginton,D'Israeli

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781593077174

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 104

View: 4940

After almost four decades of conflict, the British invasion of Mars is at a stalemate, Prime Minister Spry struggles to maintain order at home by revoking liberties, and gentleman adventurer Robert Autumn seeks to discover the Prime Minister's ultimate objective.

Kingdom of the Wicked

Author: Ian Edginton

Publisher: Titan Comics

ISBN: 1782765999

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 130

View: 2491

The twenty-first centuryÕs greatest living childrenÕs author Ð Christopher Grahame Ð is drawn back into Castrovalva, the world of his childhood imagination, when the stress of his fame starts to weigh on him. But Castrovalva has gone to hell in his absence Ð devastated by war, famine and loss. And now Christopher canÕt wake up. Has he lost his mindÉ or his innocence?

Scarlet Traces: Empire of Blood

Author: Ian Edginton

Publisher: Abaddon

ISBN: 9781781085578

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 5973

The first novel set in the War of the Worlds universe from the cult comic book hit Scarlet Traces, picking up the story directly from the climax of H.G. Wells' classic. November 1898, four months after the Martians’ failed invasion of the United Kingdom, leaving priceless technology scattered among London’s ruins. As reconstruction begins, Germany sends men and resources to aid in the recovery; not entirely trusting Kaiser Wilhelm’s goodwill, the Queen’s spymaster sends his trusted agent Ampney Crucis to spy on the German workers. In the shadows of the city, mutilated bodies are turning up in the new slums. With so many still missing and so much still to be done, the case is all but overlooked, handed over to the police department’s most junior detective, Valentine Bey. As Bey begins his investigations, he crosses paths with Crucis, and the two men discover a plot that could change the world. Something survived the War of the Worlds; something that lives still under London. And there are many who would kill to get their hands on it...

Brass Sun

The Wheel of Worlds

Author: Ian Edginton,I. N. J. Culbard

Publisher: 2000 AD

ISBN: 9781781082843

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 208

View: 5898

Wren's father has revealed to her the secret of their world, that it is only one of many in a clockwork solar system; but it is dying and to save her home, she must first escape it. The Orrery is a fully functional, life-size clockwork solar system, a clutch of planets orbiting a vast Brass Sun via immense metal spars. But the once-unified collection of worlds has regressed into eccentric fiefdoms, and ice is encroaching on the outer planets as the sun is dying. Wren and Eptimus must find the key to restart the sun, but first must escape the world known as The Keep.... This is a wholly original new SF-clockpunk series from the bestselling artist of New Deadwardians and the hit writer of Scarlet Traces and Hinterkind.

Stickleback

Author: Ian Edginton,D'Israeli

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781905437740

Category: Criminals

Page: 128

View: 7042

London, the turn of the 19th century. In this sprawling city, the inhabitants live in fear of a villainous character known only as Stickleback. He's rumoured to be a master criminal, pulling the strings amidst the denziens of the underworld, manipulating them to his own ends. But Detective Valentine Bey is determined to hunt him down.

The Graveyard Book

Author: Neil Gaiman

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 140880820X

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 304

View: 5886

When a baby escapes a murderer intent on killing the entire family, who would have thought it would find safety and security in the local graveyard? Brought up by the resident ghosts, ghouls and spectres, Bod has an eccentric childhood learning about life from the dead. But for Bod there is also the danger of the murderer still looking for him - after all, he is the last remaining member of the family. A stunningly original novel deftly constructed over eight chapters, featuring every second year of Bod's life, from babyhood to adolescence. Will Bod survive to be a man?

The Massacre of Mankind

Author: Stephen Baxter

Publisher: Crown Publishing Group (NY)

ISBN: 1524760129

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 5302

"A sequel to the H.G. Wells classic THE WAR OF THE WORLDS, brilliantly realized by award-winning SF author and Wells expert Stephen Baxter It has been 14 years since the Martians invaded England. The world has moved on, always watching the skies but content that we know how to defeat the Martian menace. Machinery looted from the abandoned capsules and war-machines has led to technological leaps forward. The Martians are vulnerable to earth germs. The Army is prepared. So when the signs of launches on Mars are seen, there seems little reason to worry. Unless you listen to one man, Walter Jenkins, the narrator of Wells' book. He is sure that the Martians have learned, adapted, understood their defeat. He is right. Thrust into the chaos of a new invasion, a journalist - sister-in-law to Walter Jenkins - must survive, escape and report on the war. The Massacre of Mankind has begun"--

Indigo Prime

Anthropocalypse

Author: John Smith,Edmund Bagwell,Lee Carter

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781781081112

Category: Comic books, strips, etc

Page: 160

View: 6615

There are an infinite number of realities within the multiverse. With the risk dimensional instability as an ever-present threat, these parallel worlds all need to be managed; enter Indigo Prime, troubleshooting reality agents.

Survival Geeks

Author: Neil Googe,Emma Beeby,Gordon Rennie

Publisher: 2000 AD

ISBN: 9781781085547

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 112

View: 303

Survival Geeks, a media-savvy sci-fi adventure! A parody of contemporary geek culture, for fans of Fanboys and Scott Pilgrim. When Sam wakes up in the house of a group of sci-fi fans, she becomes their reluctant new housemate... after the house turns out to be a piece of misfiring trans-dimensional technology! The house takes them to places where no two-up two-down terraced house has gone before, from steampunk worlds to Lovecraftian elder gods. Armed only with their wits (and Star Wars trivia) the group of misfits must survive in whatever horrifying dimension or alternate reality they find themselves hurled into! An affectionate parody of the most popular geek cultures, this quirky comedy adventure features steampunks, dark lords and cuddly Lovecraftian horrors.

Aliens Omnibus

Author: Mark Verheiden

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

ISBN: 1593079265

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 374

View: 1773

Presents a series of episodes in which scientists, military personnel, corporate officials, and hapless civilians encounter the deadly and mysterious Aliens, leading to adventures on Earth and other planets.

The Complete Crimson

Author: Brian Augustyn

Publisher: BOOM! Studios

ISBN: 9781684151677

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 640

View: 6618

The complete Crimson series, from Humberto Ramos (Amazing Spider-Man) and Brian Augustyn (Batman: Gotham By Gaslight), collected all together for the first time ever! Alex Elder isn’t your average teenager. Or at least not anymore. After being attacked by a gang of vampires, strange powers and abilities have taken over his life. Put in the care of Ekimus, the last of an ancient species pre-dating mankind, Alex must learn to embrace his destiny as “the Chosen One.” Tasked with bringing an end to the vampires, he will find that there are much scarier things that go bump in the night. Collecting the complete twenty-four issue series by Humberto Ramos (Amazing Spider-Man) and Brian Augustyn (Batman: Gotham By Gaslight), with Scarlet X: Blood on the Moon and the Crimson SourceBook. In one prestigious hardcover omnibus, this is the book fans have been waiting for.

Scarlet

Author: N.A

Publisher: Marvel

ISBN: 9781302901523

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 176

View: 5225

The award-winning, best-selling creative team behind Daredevil, Avengers and Moon Knight Unleash their boldest project yet! What will the world look like when someone stands up and says, 'Enough'? Scarlet is the story of a woman pushed to the edge by all that is wrong in the world. COLLECTING SCARLET 1-5.

Victorian Undead

Sherlock Holmes Vs Zombies!

Author: Ian Edginton,Davidé Fabbri

Publisher: Titan Publishing Company

ISBN: 9780857680518

Category: Detective and mystery comic books, strips, etc

Page: 144

View: 6728

In 1854, a meteor streaked across London's skies, bringing with it a zombie plague. For 20 years, Her Majesty's Secret Service kept the threat under control. But now Moriarty has begun using the zombies in an attempt to overthrow the Government. Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson must face off MI-5 and the zombies at the same time.

Immortal: Demon in the Blood

Author: Ian Edginton,Vicenç Villagrasa,Jos√ɬ© Luis R√ɬ≠o; Long Vo

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

ISBN: 1616550244

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 96

View: 6105

"A samurai is saved from death by mysterious tattoo that connects him to an immortal oni demon and gives him immortality"--

Scarlet Spider - Volume 2

Lone Star

Author: N.A

Publisher: Marvel

ISBN: 9780785163114

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 152

View: 1120

Something terrible is happening in the Gulf of Mexico. When Houston-based mega-corporation ROXXON is attacked after making an astonishing discovery, Scarlet Spider finds himself right in the middle of it...defending ROXXON?!? And when the Southwest's greatest heroes, the Rangers, arrive to take down the Scarlet Spider, our webbed hero goes from Houston's newest hero to Houston's most wanted. But as the mystery deepens, both sides learn what the corporation's greed has brought down upon Houston. Mammon has been unleashed, and Scarlet Spider and the Rangers have no hope of stopping it! Plus: a door has been opened at NASA's Houston facility - and Scarlet Spider's life will never be the same. It's a bold new era of web-spinning excitement in the Mighty Marvel Manner! COLLECTING: Scarlet Spider 7-9, 12.1, 13-15