Scarlet Experiment

Birds and Humans in America

Author: Jeff Karnicky

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN: 0803294980

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 246

View: 5827

"Scarlet Experiment explores how humanity's relationship with birds has been influenced by governmental agencies, literary renderings, and the conservation movement and uses six bird species to study the management of bird life in America from the nineteenth century to the present"--

Melville’s Anatomies

Author: Samuel Otter

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 9780520918016

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 418

View: 7954

In fascinating new contextual readings of four of Herman Melville's novels—Typee, White-Jacket, Moby-Dick, and Pierre—Samuel Otter delves into Melville's exorbitant prose to show how he anatomizes ideology, making it palpable and strange. Otter portrays Melville as deeply concerned with issues of race, the body, gender, sentiment, and national identity. He articulates a range of contemporary texts (narratives of travelers, seamen, and slaves; racial and aesthetic treatises; fiction; poetry; and essays) in order to flesh out Melville's discursive world. Otter presents Melville's works as "inside narratives" offering material analyses of consciousness. Chapters center on the tattooed faces in Typee, the flogged bodies in White-Jacket, the scrutinized heads in Moby-Dick, and the desiring eyes and eloquent, constricted hearts of Pierre. Otter shows how Melville's books tell of the epic quest to know the secrets of the human body. Rather than dismiss contemporary beliefs about race, self, and nation, Melville inhabits them, acknowledging their appeal and examining their sway. Meticulously researched and brilliantly argued, this groundbreaking study links Melville's words to his world and presses the relations between discourse and ideology. It will deeply influence all future studies of Melville and his work.

Scary Science

24 Creepy Experiments

Author: Shar Levine,Leslie Johnstone,Ashley Spires

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

ISBN: 0545324068

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 55

View: 8739

Presents over twenty science experiments designed to scare and gross-out others, including shrunken heads, rubber bones, and zombie food, and explains the scientific principles behind each experiment.

Between Us and the Moon

Author: Rebecca Maizel

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0062327631

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 384

View: 6577

A luminous YA love story that evokes Judy Blume's Forever for a new generation. Sarah—Bean to her friends and family—is an aspiring astronomer and champion mathlete. She lives behind her beloved telescope, with her head in the stars and her feet planted firmly on the ground. For as long as she can remember, she's also lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett. But after a traumatic end to the school year, Sarah goes to Cape Cod for the summer with her family, determined to grow up. It's there that she meets gorgeous, older college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl like Scarlett. He thinks she's older, too—and she doesn't correct him. For Sarah, it's a summer of firsts. Before she knows what's happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself. Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this romantic and heartfelt coming-of-age novel about how life and love are impossible to predict.

Works

Author: Francis Bacon

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 3945


The End of Mr. Y

Author: Scarlett Thomas

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780547539232

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 2437

A cursed book. A missing professor. Some nefarious men in gray suits. And a dreamworld called the Troposphere? Ariel Manto has a fascination with nineteenth-century scientists—especially Thomas Lumas and The End of Mr. Y, a book no one alive has read. When she mysteriously uncovers a copy at a used bookstore, Ariel is launched into an adventure of science and faith, consciousness and death, space and time, and everything in between. Seeking answers, Ariel follows in Mr. Y’s footsteps: She swallows a tincture, stares into a black dot, and is transported into the Troposphere—a wonderland where she can travel through time and space using the thoughts of others. There she begins to understand all the mysteries surrounding the book, herself, and the universe. Or is it all just a hallucination? With The End of Mr. Y, Scarlett Thomas brings us another fast-paced mix of popular culture, love, mystery, and irresistible philosophical adventure.

Scarlet Devices

Author: Delphine Dryden

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0425265781

Category: Fiction

Page: 294

View: 3209

While competing in a sky and steam race across America against her friend Matthew, Eliza Hardison, encountering turbulent skies and uncharted American wilds, starts to see Matthew in a romantic new light. Original. 20,000 first printing.

Sherlock Holmes: A Study in Scarlet (Sherlock Complete Set 1)

Author: Arthur Conan Doyle

Publisher: Headline

ISBN: 0755387570

Category: Fiction

Page: 131

View: 9164

The greatest detective of them all is back... 'There's the scarlet thread of murder running through the colourless skein of life, and our duty is to unravel it, and isolate it, and expose every inch of it'. Arriving in the wilderness of London Dr John Watson finds himself lodging at 221b Baker Street with one Sherlock Holmes. A corpse has been discovered and scrawled in blood across the walls is the word RACHE - revenge. Watson, is baffled by the case but for Holmes the game is afoot...

The Cultivator

A Monthly Publication, Devoted to Agriculture

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Agriculture

Page: N.A

View: 2499


Scarlet A

The Ethics, Law, and Politics of Ordinary Abortion

Author: Katie Watson

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0190624868

Category: Social Science

Page: 304

View: 9374

Although Roe v. Wade identified abortion as a constitutional right 45 years ago, it still bears stigma--a proverbial scarlet A. Millions of Americans have participated in or benefited from an abortion, but few want to reveal that they have done so. Approximately one in five pregnancies in the US ends in abortion. Why is something so common, which has been legal so long, still a source of shame and secrecy? Why is it so regularly debated by politicians, and so seldom divulged from friend to friend? This book explores the personal stigma that prevents many from sharing their abortion experiences with friends and family in private conversation, and the structural stigma that keeps it that way. In public discussion, both proponents and opponents of abortion's legality tend to focus on extraordinary cases. This tendency keeps the national debate polarized and contentious, and keeps our focus on the cases that occur the least. Professor Katie Watson focuses instead on the cases that happen the most, which she calls "ordinary abortion." Scarlet A gives the reflective reader a more accurate impression of what the majority of American abortion practice really looks like. It explains how our silence around private experience has distorted public opinion, and how including both ordinary abortion and abortion ethics could make our public exchanges more fruitful. In Scarlet A, Watson wisely and respectfully navigates one of the most divisive topics in contemporary life. This book explains the law of abortion, challenges the toxic politics that make it a public football and private secret, offers tools for more productive private exchanges, and leads the way to a more robust public discussion of abortion ethics. Scarlet A combines storytelling and statistics to bring the story of ordinary abortion out of the shadows, painting a rich, rarely seen picture of how patients and doctors currently think and act, and ultimately inviting readers to tell their own stories and draw their own conclusions.

PopCo

Author: Scarlett Thomas

Publisher: Canongate Books

ISBN: 1847673961

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 8800

Alice Butler has been receiving some odd messages - all anonymous, all written in code. Are they from someone at PopCo, the profit-hungry corporation she works for? Or from Alice's long lost father? Or has someone else been on her trail? The solution, she is sure, will involve the code-breaking skills she learned from her grandparents and the key she's been wearing round her neck since she was ten. PopCo is a grown-up adventure of family secrets, puzzles, big business and the power of numbers.

Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter

Author: Leland Ryken

Publisher: Crossway

ISBN: 1433526115

Category: Religion

Page: 80

View: 6644

We’ve all heard about the classics and assume they’re great. Some of us have even read them on our own. But for those of us who remain a bit intimidated or simply want to get more out of our reading, Crossway’s Christian Guides to the Classics are here to help. In these short guidebooks, popular professor, author, and literary expert Leland Ryken takes you through some of the greatest literature in history while answering your questions along the way. Each book: Includes an introduction to the author and work Explains the cultural context Incorporates published criticism Contains discussion questions at the end of each unit of the text Defines key literary terms Lists resources for further study Evaluates the classic text from a Christian worldview This particular guide opens up the signature book of American literature, Hawthorne’s Scarlet Letter, and unpacks its universal themes of sin, guilt, and redemption.

The 3:15 Experiment

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780966943030

Category: Poetry

Page: 115

View: 6741

The 3:15 EXPERIMENT comprises the results of an experiment in which the four authors rose at 3:15 A.M. every day in the month of August from the years 1993-2000 and wrote. Some poems, some prose, some dream-drenched euphoric scrawl, some devine journaling recording the weird magic of that middle hour. "In 1994...I was awake at 3:15 almost every night all August. This writing-by-alarm is one out of a large -- infinite? -- bag of tricks. The self outside the self. To get ourselves to pay attention differently, unawares" -- Jen Hofer. "The book is full of marvelous 'good times' as well -- with language, zones, emotions & political conventions... -- the stuff & dross & excitement of existing experimentally in the minds of four exceptional writers" -- Anne Waldman.