Counting Raindrops Through a Stained Glass Window

Author: Cherlyn Michaels

Publisher: Hyperion

ISBN: 9781401308131

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 8726

"The surest way to ruin a relationship is to marry the man you love." At least that's what Vanella Morris believes; she's seen the crazy things that marriage makes people do. So when Alton, her longtime boyfriend and love of her life, proposes, Vanella is faced with a dilemma: Unable to convince Alton to skip the vows, does she walk away from happiness because of her fears?

Literary Divas

The Top 100+ Most Admired African-American Women in Literature

Author: Heather Covington

Publisher: Amber Books Publishing

ISBN: 9780976773535

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 231

View: 7888

These divas represent the voices of past and future generations, such as Tyra Banks, Terry McMillan, Harriette Cole, Maya Angelou, Iyanla Vanzant, Nikki Giovanni, Dawn Davis, Adrienne Ingrum, Carol Mackey, Oprah Winfrey, Rosa Parks, Shirley Chisholm, Coretta Scott King, Zora Neal Hurston, and Octavia Butler.

First Fridays

Author: Cherlyn Michaels

Publisher: Hyperion

ISBN: 9781401308148

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 1527

A bright new talent in African-American fi ction returns with her second novel, filled with smarts, sass, and sex . . . Naja's on a nine-month countdown -- for her baby, but not the kind youd expect. Naja's baby is an Internet caf, the entrepreneurial dream she's been pursuing secretly while working in a St. Louis office. When she's laid off, Naja finds herself looking for new ways to network; at her best friend's suggestion, she attends a First Fridays gettogether. To her surprise, she meets Russ, a handsome, charismatic man who offers to back her venture. Soon enough, he wants more, but Naja is reluctant to mix business with pleasure. However, resisting Russ's charms is trickier than she imagined . . . Watch Cherlyn Michaels's fan base grow as fast as the sexual tension in the pages of this fun, intelligent novel.

Takomiad

Author: Surazeus Astarius

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1387250671

Category: Poetry

Page: 536

View: 8924

Takomiad of Surazeus - Goddess of Takoma presents 125,667 lines of verse in 2,590 poems, lyrics, ballads, sonnets, dramatic monologues, eulogies, hymns, and epigrams written by Surazeus 1984 to 1992.

The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1)

A gripping Tudor murder mystery

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755397754

Category: Fiction

Page: 219

View: 6865

Anarchy and unrest make for a deadly investigation... In the first journal of Roger Shallot, the Tudor sleuth writes of the murders and villainy perpetrated during the reign of King Henry VIII in Paul Doherty's masterful novel, The White Rose Murders. Perfect for fans of Susannah Gregory and C. J. Sansom. 'The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters' - Time Out In 1517 the English armies have defeated and killed James IV of Scotland at Flodden and James's widow-queen, Margaret, sister to Henry VIII, has fled to England, leaving her crown under a Council of Regency. Roger Shallot is drawn into a web of mystery and murder by his close friendship with Benjamin Daunbey, the nephew of Cardinal Wolsey, first minister of Henry VIII. Benjamin and Roger are ordered into Margaret's household to resolve certain mysteries as well as to bring about her restoration to Scotland. They begin by questioning Selkirk, a half-mad physician imprisoned in the Tower. He is subsequently found poisoned in a locked chamber guarded by soldiers. The only clue is a poem of riddles. However, the poem contains the seeds for other gruesome murders. The faceless assassin always leaves a white rose, the mark of Les Blancs Sangliers, a secret society plotting the overthrow of the Tudor monarchy... What readers are saying about The White Rose Murders: 'Roger is a rogue and a villain, but so engaging that the reader soon becomes entangled in the complex mysteries' 'The plots are always original and interesting and populated by a wonderful cast of characters' 'Paul Doherty has a great talent for describing the gory and realistic details of Tudor life and bases his story on facts, which make it credible as well as a very entertaining whodunit'

Schloss aus Glas

Author: Jeannette Walls

Publisher: Hoffmann und Campe

ISBN: 3455810519

Category: Fiction

Page: 382

View: 6412

Jeannette Walls ist ein glückliches Kind: Sie hat einen Vater, der mit ihr auf Dämonenjagd geht, ihr die Physik erklärt und die Sterne vom Himmel holt. Da nimmt sie gerne in Kauf, immer mal wieder mit leerem Bauch ins Bett zu gehen, ihre egomanische Künstlermutter zu ertragen oder in Nacht-und-Nebel-Aktionen den Wohnort zu wechseln. Mit den Jahren allerdings werden die sozialen Verhältnisse schlimmer, die Sprüche des Vaters schaler und das Lügengebäude der Eltern so zerbrechlich wie das Schloss aus Glas, das der Vater jahrelang zu bauen versprochen hatte.

Fly in the Ointment

Author: Anne Fine

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1407083929

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 4770

Guilt is in the eye of the beholder ... When her cold and indifferent husband vanishes, so does Lois's old life. Now she is ready to take her chances again. There's only one fly in the ointment: Janie-Gay, ex-partner of the son Lois lost to drugs, and spiteful mother of the small, neglected child she can't get out of her mind. Caring's not something one can lay aside, and Lois is soon tangled in webs of deceit. Worse, she is on a collision course with a remorseless society that claims to support and protect. Now, more than ever, she could use the skills of her once frozen heart...

White Horse

Roman

Author: Alex Adams

Publisher: Piper Fantasy

ISBN: 3492983111

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 750

Eine Welt, die alle Hoffnung verloren hat. Eine junge Frau, die ihr ungeborenes Kind beschützen muss. Und ein uraltes Rätsel, das für uns alle zur tödlichen Gefahr wird ... Die junge Zoe entdeckt in ihrer Wohnung ein merkwürdiges Glasgefäß, dessen Herkunft sie sich nicht erklären kann. Als sie den Behälter öffnet, breitet sich eine geheimnisvolle Seuche aus, »White Horse«. Unzählige Menschen sterben, das Ende aller Zeiten scheint gekommen. Zoe verliert nicht nur ihre Familie, sondern auch ihren geliebten Nick, der spurlos verschwindet und von dem sie schwanger ist. Auf sich allein gestellt, macht sich Zoe auf die Suche – wird sie Nick wiederfinden, um das Geheimnis von »White Horse« zu lüften?

Die letzte Reise der Meerjungfrau

oder wie Jonah Hancock über Nacht zum reichen Mann wurde. Roman

Author: Imogen Hermes Gowar

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3732556018

Category: Fiction

Page: 555

View: 5894

"Eine unglaublich eindrucksvolle Lektüre. Gowars Gespür für anschauliche und sinnliche Details ist erstaunlich." The Bookseller Ein Wunder, raunen die einen. Betrug, rufen die anderen. Für den Kaufmann Jonah Hancock zählt nur eines: Die Meerjungfrau, die sein Kapitän aus Übersee mitgebracht hat, versetzt ganz London in Staunen. Wie ein Lauffeuer verbreitet sich die Kunde in den Kaffeehäusern, Salons und Bordellen der Stadt. Jonah steigt in die obersten Kreise der Gesellschaft auf und verkauft seine Meerjungfrau schließlich für eine schwindelerregende Summe. Nur die Gunst der Edelkurtisane Angelica Neal bleibt unerschwinglich für ihn, denn als Beweis seiner Liebe fordert Angelica eine eigene Meerjungfrau. Jonah setzt alles daran, ihr diesen Wunsch zu erfüllen. Doch Wunder haben einen hohen Preis. Ein preisgekröntes Romandebüt über Menschen, Meerjungfrauen und das ewige Streben nach mehr. Imogen Hermes Gowar erweckt das London des 18. Jahrhunderts zum Leben - schillernd, faszinierend und facettenreich.