Burned and Broken

If you like Peter James, you'll love this

Author: Mark Hardie

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751562068

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 9622

A gripping mystery about a woman trying to find out the truth behind the death of her best friend and introducing a brilliant detective duo - perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons and James Oswald. A DEAD GIRL A vulnerable young woman, fresh out of the care system, is trying to discover the truth behind the sudden death of her best friend. A MURDERED POLICE OFFICER The charred body of a policeman - currently the subject of an internal investigation - is found in the burnt-out-shell of his car on the Southend seafront. A CRIME WORTH KILLING FOR? To DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell of the Essex Police Major Investigation Team, the two events seem unconnected. But as they dig deeper into their colleague's murder, dark secrets begin to emerge. Can Pearson and Russell solve both cases, before more lives are destroyed? A twisty, gripping novel that introduces a brilliant new detective duo. If you like Peter James, Angela Marsons, James Oswald, LJ Ross, Joy Ellis and Patricia Gibney, then you'll love this crime debut. **** Praise for Burned and Broken: 'Immensely impressive' The Times 'The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut' Sunday Times 'Emotional, intelligent, sensual and with such a strong voice, Burned and Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success' Harry Illingworth (Goldsboro Books) 'I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book and I would recommend it to anybody. I can't wait to read more investigations led by DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell' Amanda Oughton (Ginger Book Geek) 'The story is easy to follow without being too simple, and the novel really manages to evoke a sense of atmosphere and reality within its pages. I didn't find myself becoming distracted whilst reading at all, and raced through it in hours. I will certainly be reading any future novels, particularly in this series which I wholeheartedly enjoyed' Laura Naz (Snazzy Books)

Truly Evil

When every suspect has a secret, how do you find the killer?

Author: Mark Hardie

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751562114

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 1624

A gripping detective mystery that brings together the secrets of the past and the crimes of the present in a twist that will leave you gasping - perfect for fans of Peter James and LJ Ross. A BRUTAL ACT OF VIOLENCE A body has been found dumped on the shores of Southend. Already under scrutiny following the murder of a corrupt cop, DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell of the Essex Major Investigation Team are tasked with solving the case quickly, and quietly. A WOMAN TOO SCARED TO TALK When the victim's identity is revealed, the list of suspects begins to grow: a young woman knows more than she's letting on, but is she really involved? Or there's the estranged father, who's been trying to find the victim for months. One thing is clear: no one is telling the whole truth. A KILLER BACK FOR MORE? Then a shocking tragedy leads Pearson to a similar murder case from decades before. Is it a coincidence, or is history repeating itself? As Pearson and Russell search for the answer, they find themselves drawn into a terrifying cover-up going back fifty years... If you like Peter James, LJ Ross, Erin Kelly, TM Logan and Patricia Gibney, then you'll love Mark Hardie's gripping novels. **** Praise for Mark Hardie: 'Immensely impressive' The Times 'The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut' Sunday Times 'Emotional, intelligent, sensual and with such a strong voice, Burned and Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success' Harry Illingworth (Goldsboro Books) 'I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book and I would recommend it to anybody. I can't wait to read more investigations led by DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell' Amanda Oughton (Ginger Book Geek) 'The story is easy to follow without being too simple, and the novel really manages to evoke a sense of atmosphere and reality within its pages. I didn't find myself becoming distracted whilst reading at all, and raced through it in hours. I will certainly be reading any future novels, particularly in this series which I wholeheartedly enjoyed' Laura Naz (Snazzy Books)

Dein Tod wird kommen

Ein neuer Fall für Roy Grace

Author: Peter James

Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag

ISBN: 3104037922

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 6909

Sie waren dem Tode geweiht - Der elfte Fall für Detective Superintendent Roy Grace von Nr.1-Bestsellerautor Peter James Als Logan Somerville in die Tiefgarage ihres Apartmenthauses in Brighton fährt, sieht sie nur eine schemenhafte Gestalt. Ein Mann sei da unten, berichtet sie ihrem Verlobten Jamie Ball voller Panik am Telefon. Es folgt ein Schrei. Danach ist die Leitung tot. Nur wenige Minuten später ist die Polizei vor Ort. Logans Auto steht ordentlich geparkt da. Auf dem Beifahrersitz liegt ihr Handy. Doch von Logan keine Spur. Kurze Zeit später taucht bei einem Londoner Psychiater ein Mann auf, der behauptet, er habe Informationen über Logan. Liegt hier der Schlüssel für die Aufklärung einer ganzen Serie von Mordfällen? fragt sich Detective Superintendent Roy Grace.

Turner Classic Movies Presents Leonard Maltin's Classic Movie Guide

From the Silent Era Through 1965: Third Edition

Author: Leonard Maltin

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0698197291

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 864

View: 7697

The definitive guide to classic films from one of America's most trusted film critics Thanks to Netflix and cable television, classic films are more accessible than ever. Now co-branded with Turner Classic Movies, Leonard Maltin’s Classic Movie Guide covers films from Hollywood and around the world, from the silent era through 1965, and from The Maltese Falcon to Singin’ in the Rain and Godzilla, King of the Monsters! Thoroughly revised and updated, and featuring expanded indexes, a list of Maltin’s personal recommendations, and three hundred new entries—including many offbeat and obscure films—this new edition is a must-have companion for every movie lover. From the Trade Paperback edition.

The Encyclopedia of British Film

Fourth Edition

Author: Brian McFarlane,Anthony Slide

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 071909139X

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 1000

View: 9195

This is a comprehensive history of the British film industry from its inception to the present day, with minute listings of the producers, directors, actors and studios behind a century of great British cinema.

Ginger

Author: Charlotte Voake

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783772519888

Category:

Page: 36

View: 6653


The Academy and Literature

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 1509

The Poetical gazette; the official organ of the Poetry society and a review of poetical affairs, nos. 4-7 issued as supplements to the Academy, v. 79, Oct. 15, Nov. 5, Dec. 3 and 31, 1910

Die kalte Schulter und der warme Händedruck

Ganz natürliche Erklärungen für die geheime Sprache unserer Körper

Author: Allan & Barbara Pease

Publisher: Ullstein Buchverlage

ISBN: 3843714908

Category: Psychology

Page: 368

View: 9511

Was verraten meine Gesten über mich? Wie kann ich die körperlichen Signale anderer deuten? Warum kommunizieren Männer und Frauen auch nonverbal vollkommen verschieden? Diesen Fragen gehen Allan & Barbara Pease auf den Grund. Dabei beobachten sie nicht nur ganz alltägliche Phänomene der Körpersprache, sondern präsentieren auch Beispiele aus ihren Seminaren. Ein Muss für jeden Pease-Fan.

Der Ermittler

Roman

Author: Arthur Hailey

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783442352111

Category:

Page: 538

View: 2349


Der Sinn des Todes

Kriminalroman

Author: Val McDermid

Publisher: Droemer eBook

ISBN: 3426444984

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 2131

Der dreißigste Kriminalroman der britischen Bestseller-Autorin: Val McDermid auf der Höhe ihrer Kunst! Ein betrunkener Siebzehnjähriger rast nachts mit einem gestohlenen Auto durch Dundee. Für seine drei Kumpels endet die Fahrt tödlich. Der Hooligan überlebt – im Koma, für immer schwer gezeichnet. Überraschend fördert ein Routine-DNA-Test eine Verbindung zu einem zwanzig Jahre zurückliegenden, ungelösten Mordfall zutage. Wie kann das sein? Detective Chief Inspector Karen Pirie von Police Scotland ist sehr erfolgreich darin, verzwickte alte Fälle aufzuklären. Doch schnell stellt sich heraus, dass der Fall mindestens so viele Windungen hat wie die DNA-Helix. Zeitgleich wird Karen in einen anderen, ähnlich weit zurückliegenden Fall verwickelt, in dem sie eigentlich gar nicht ermitteln dürfte. Aber ihr Sinn für Gerechtigkeit lässt ihr keine andere Wahl... "Welche Superlative sind noch übrig, um das Phänomen der vielfach preisgekrönten Val McDermid zu beschreiben?" Daily Mail

Leben 3.0

Mensch sein im Zeitalter Künstlicher Intelligenz

Author: Max Tegmark

Publisher: Ullstein Buchverlage

ISBN: 3843716706

Category: Social Science

Page: 528

View: 2419

Die Nobelpreis-Schmiede Massachusetts Institute of Technology ist der bedeutendste technologische Think Tank der USA. Dort arbeitet Professor Max Tegmark mit den weltweit führenden Entwicklern künstlicher Intelligenz zusammen, die ihm exklusive Einblicke in ihre Labors gewähren. Die Erkenntnisse, die er daraus zieht, sind atemberaubend und zutiefst verstörend zugleich. Neigt sich die Ära der Menschen dem Ende zu? Der Physikprofessor Max Tegmark zeigt anhand der neusten Forschung, was die Menschheit erwartet. Hier eine Auswahl möglicher Szenarien: - Eroberer: Künstliche Intelligenz übernimmt die Macht und entledigt sich der Menschheit mit Methoden, die wir noch nicht einmal verstehen. - Der versklavte Gott: Die Menschen bemächtigen sich einer superintelligenten künstlichen Intelligenz und nutzen sie, um Hochtechnologien herzustellen. - Umkehr: Der technologische Fortschritt wird radikal unterbunden und wir kehren zu einer prä-technologischen Gesellschaft im Stil der Amish zurück. - Selbstzerstörung: Superintelligenz wird nicht erreicht, weil sich die Menschheit vorher nuklear oder anders selbst vernichtet. - Egalitäres Utopia: Es gibt weder Superintelligenz noch Besitz, Menschen und kybernetische Organismen existieren friedlich nebeneinander. Max Tegmark bietet kluge und fundierte Zukunftsszenarien basierend auf seinen exklusiven Einblicken in die aktuelle Forschung zur künstlichen Intelligenz.

The Advocate

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Gay liberation movement

Page: N.A

View: 5616


Billboard

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Amusements

Page: N.A

View: 2815