Burned and Broken

If you like Peter James, you'll love this

Author: Mark Hardie

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751562068

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 5432

A gripping mystery about a woman trying to find out the truth behind the death of her best friend and introducing a brilliant detective duo - perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons and James Oswald. A DEAD GIRL A vulnerable young woman, fresh out of the care system, is trying to discover the truth behind the sudden death of her best friend. A MURDERED POLICE OFFICER The charred body of a policeman - currently the subject of an internal investigation - is found in the burnt-out-shell of his car on the Southend seafront. A CRIME WORTH KILLING FOR? To DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell of the Essex Police Major Investigation Team, the two events seem unconnected. But as they dig deeper into their colleague's murder, dark secrets begin to emerge. Can Pearson and Russell solve both cases, before more lives are destroyed? A twisty, gripping novel that introduces a brilliant new detective duo. If you like Peter James, Angela Marsons, James Oswald, LJ Ross, Joy Ellis and Patricia Gibney, then you'll love this crime debut. **** Praise for Burned and Broken: 'Immensely impressive' The Times 'The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut' Sunday Times 'Emotional, intelligent, sensual and with such a strong voice, Burned and Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success' Harry Illingworth (Goldsboro Books) 'I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book and I would recommend it to anybody. I can't wait to read more investigations led by DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell' Amanda Oughton (Ginger Book Geek) 'The story is easy to follow without being too simple, and the novel really manages to evoke a sense of atmosphere and reality within its pages. I didn't find myself becoming distracted whilst reading at all, and raced through it in hours. I will certainly be reading any future novels, particularly in this series which I wholeheartedly enjoyed' Laura Naz (Snazzy Books)

Truly Evil

When every suspect has a secret, how do you find the killer?

Author: Mark Hardie

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751562114

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 7400

A gripping detective mystery that brings together the secrets of the past and the crimes of the present in a twist that will leave you gasping - perfect for fans of Peter James and LJ Ross. A BRUTAL ACT OF VIOLENCE A body has been found dumped on the shores of Southend. Already under scrutiny following the murder of a corrupt cop, DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell of the Essex Major Investigation Team are tasked with solving the case quickly, and quietly. A WOMAN TOO SCARED TO TALK When the victim's identity is revealed, the list of suspects begins to grow: a young woman knows more than she's letting on, but is she really involved? Or there's the estranged father, who's been trying to find the victim for months. One thing is clear: no one is telling the whole truth. A KILLER BACK FOR MORE? Then a shocking tragedy leads Pearson to a similar murder case from decades before. Is it a coincidence, or is history repeating itself? As Pearson and Russell search for the answer, they find themselves drawn into a terrifying cover-up going back fifty years... If you like Peter James, LJ Ross, Erin Kelly, TM Logan and Patricia Gibney, then you'll love Mark Hardie's gripping novels. **** Praise for Mark Hardie: 'Immensely impressive' The Times 'The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut' Sunday Times 'Emotional, intelligent, sensual and with such a strong voice, Burned and Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success' Harry Illingworth (Goldsboro Books) 'I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book and I would recommend it to anybody. I can't wait to read more investigations led by DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell' Amanda Oughton (Ginger Book Geek) 'The story is easy to follow without being too simple, and the novel really manages to evoke a sense of atmosphere and reality within its pages. I didn't find myself becoming distracted whilst reading at all, and raced through it in hours. I will certainly be reading any future novels, particularly in this series which I wholeheartedly enjoyed' Laura Naz (Snazzy Books)

Turner Classic Movies Presents Leonard Maltin's Classic Movie Guide

From the Silent Era Through 1965: Third Edition

Author: Leonard Maltin

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0698197291

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 864

View: 9269

The definitive guide to classic films from one of America's most trusted film critics Thanks to Netflix and cable television, classic films are more accessible than ever. Now co-branded with Turner Classic Movies, Leonard Maltin’s Classic Movie Guide covers films from Hollywood and around the world, from the silent era through 1965, and from The Maltese Falcon to Singin’ in the Rain and Godzilla, King of the Monsters! Thoroughly revised and updated, and featuring expanded indexes, a list of Maltin’s personal recommendations, and three hundred new entries—including many offbeat and obscure films—this new edition is a must-have companion for every movie lover. From the Trade Paperback edition.

The Encyclopedia of British Film

Fourth Edition

Author: Brian McFarlane,Anthony Slide

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 071909139X

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 1000

View: 6483

This is a comprehensive history of the British film industry from its inception to the present day, with minute listings of the producers, directors, actors and studios behind a century of great British cinema.

The Academy and Literature

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 3551

The Poetical gazette; the official organ of the Poetry society and a review of poetical affairs, nos. 4-7 issued as supplements to the Academy, v. 79, Oct. 15, Nov. 5, Dec. 3 and 31, 1910

Der Knochensammler - Die Ernte

Thriller

Author: Fiona Cummins

Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag

ISBN: 3104037442

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 2259

Er sammelt aus Leidenschaft. Knochen. Menschliche Knochen. Doch das Herzstück fehlt ihm noch in seiner Sammlung. Die Knochen von Jakey. Einem sechsjährigen Jungen, der am Münchmeyer-Syndrom leidet, einer seltenen Knochenkrankheit, die Jakeys Körper langsam verknöchern lässt ... Den Knochensammler vergisst so schnell niemand mehr: Wie ein Schatten gleitet er durch Londons Straßen und verfolgt einen teuflischen Plan. Fiona Cummins‘ »Der Knochensammler – Die Ernte« ist ein schauderhaft genialer Thriller mit Bestseller-Format – so nervenzerfetzend wie Mo Hayders »Der Vogelmann«, so abgründig und faszinierend wie »Die Chemie des Todes«.

The Advocate

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Gay liberation movement

Page: N.A

View: 4382


Ginger

Author: Charlotte Voake

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783772519888

Category:

Page: 36

View: 5998


Der Valentinsmörder

Thriller - Ein Fall für Antonia Hawkins 2

Author: Alastair Gunn

Publisher: Goldmann Verlag

ISBN: 364117340X

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 1422

DCI Antonia Hawkins ist nur knapp einem Serienmörder entkommen und leidet unter schweren körperlichen und seelischen Verletzungen. Doch für Erholung ist keine Zeit, denn kaum ist sie wieder zurück im Londoner Kommissariat, erreicht sie eine schockierende Nachricht: Eine junge Frau wurde am Valentinstag mit einem Hammer erschlagen. Die Tote, Samantha Philips, war gerade aus dem Gefängnis entlassen worden – sie hatte den Mann erstochen, der sie vor einiger Zeit vergewaltigt hatte. Antonia muss alles daran setzen, den Valentinsmörder zu finden, denn schon bald taucht ein zweites Opfer auf ...

Billboard

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Amusements

Page: N.A

View: 317


The Sphere

An Illustrated Newspaper for the Home

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 1705


Video Sourcebook

A Guide to Programs Currently Available on Video in the Areas Of: Movies/entertainment, General Interest/education, Sports/recreation, Fine Arts, Heal

Author: Thomson Gale

Publisher: Gale Cengage

ISBN: 9781414400990

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 4000

View: 8521

From classroom aids to corporate training programs, technical resources to self-help guides, children's features to documentaries, theatrical releases to straight-to-video movies, The Video Source Book continues its comprehensive coverage of the wide universe of video offerings with more than 130,000 complete program listings, encompassing more than 160,000 videos. All listings are arranged alphabetically by title. Each entry provides a description of the program and information on obtaining the title. Six indexes -- alternate title, subject, credits, awards, special formats and program distributors -- help speed research.

New York

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: New York (N.Y.)

Page: N.A

View: 4607


Halliwell's Film, Video and DVD Guide

Author: Leslie Halliwell

Publisher: Harpercollins Pub Limited

ISBN: 9780007190812

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 1038

View: 5943

More than 23,000 entries provide plot summaries, a star rating, and information on casts, writers, directors, producers, awards, and alternate titles, with quotations from contemporary reviews.