Foundations of Braille Literacy

Author: Evelyn J. Rex,American Foundation for the Blind

Publisher: American Foundation for the Blind

ISBN: 9780891289340

Category: Education

Page: 153

View: 2824

This ground-breaking text addresses the teaching of braille reading and writing in the context of general literacy. Employing theoretical frameworks and approaches to teaching print reading and writing and practical applications for instruction in braille literacy, this innovative book can be used both in university training programs and by practicing educators working with braille learners. Foundations of Braille Literacy also includes perspectives on literacy, the history of literacy for people who are blind, the learning processes of people who are blind, and assessment of braille literacy.

Instructional Strategies for Braille Literacy

Author: Frances Mary D'Andrea,American Foundation for the Blind

Publisher: American Foundation for the Blind

ISBN: 9780891289364

Category: Education

Page: 457

View: 3331

This award-winning handbook gives teachers specific strategies and methodologies for teaching braille. It offers in-depth information on techniques for working with children at all levels of learning, with congenital or adventitious visual impairments, those with additional disabilities, and students who are just learning English. It also contains information on assessment and technology, as well as convenient assessment forms. Instructional Strategies offers a wealth of information and practical tips for new practitioners and seasoned professionals alike

Braille Literacy

A Functional Approach

Author: Diane P. Wormsley

Publisher: American Foundation for the Blind

ISBN: 9780891288763

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 124

View: 8416

Teachers whose students are challenged by learning braille will welcome this innovative, step-by-step guide. Whether students' learning problems stem from additional physical or cognitive disabilities, the inability to speak English well, or difficulty in making the transition from print to braille, this resource will help you help them. Equally effective for teaching braille reading and writing to children or adults, Braille Literacy uses a functional approach based on concepts and vocabulary that have meaning and utility to the student. Key areas discussed include creating braille-rich environments, selecting and teaching key words, teaching tactile perception skills, encouraging writing skills, creating stories, and keeping records. Other sections focus on ways to reach special groups, such as learners with mild to moderate cognitive impairments, severe to profound cognitive impairments, or multiple physical and cognitive impairments. Sample forms help you put the program into action.

I-M-ABLE

Individualized Meaning-Centered Approach to Braille Literacy Education

Author: Diane P. Wormsley

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780891287223

Category: People with visual disabilities

Page: 164

View: 9810

I-M-ABLE, or the Individualized Meaning-Centered Approach to Braille Literacy Education, is an innovative, individualized, student-centered method for teaching braille and making it exciting for children who have difficulties learning braille. In this teaching approach, instruction is centered on continuously analyzing the strengths and needs of students, placing particular emphasis on engaging them using key vocabulary words and phrases based on their experiences and interests. This comprehensive practice guide provides detailed direction on how to implement the components of the approach. Teachers will find this resource invaluable for helping students with mild to moderate cognitive impairments or other difficulties make progress in braille reading and writing, and all the skills that it encompasses.

Beginning with Braille

Firsthand Experiences with a Balanced Approach to Literacy

Author: Anna M Swenson

Publisher: American Foundation for the Blind

ISBN: 9780891283232

Category: Education

Page: 213

View: 6362

Beginning with braille provides a wealth of effective activities for promoting literacy at the early stages of braille instruction. The text includes creative and practical strategies for designing and delivering quality braille instruction and teacher-friendly suggestions for many areas such as reading aloud to young children, selecting and making early tactile books, and teaching tactile and hand movement skills. This book also includes tips on designing worksheets, introducing braille contractions, teaching the use of the braillewriter, and facilitating the writing process in braille. Chapters also address guidelines for individualizing instruction, the literacy needs of students with additional disabilities, and assessment of student progress in developing literacy skills.

Instructional Strategies for Braille Literacy

Author: Frances Mary D'Andrea,American Foundation for the Blind

Publisher: American Foundation for the Blind

ISBN: 9780891289364

Category: Education

Page: 457

View: 1193

This award-winning handbook gives teachers specific strategies and methodologies for teaching braille. It offers in-depth information on techniques for working with children at all levels of learning, with congenital or adventitious visual impairments, those with additional disabilities, and students who are just learning English. It also contains information on assessment and technology, as well as convenient assessment forms. Instructional Strategies offers a wealth of information and practical tips for new practitioners and seasoned professionals alike

Foundations of Braille Literacy

Author: Evelyn J. Rex,American Foundation for the Blind

Publisher: American Foundation for the Blind

ISBN: 9780891289340

Category: Education

Page: 153

View: 8279

This ground-breaking text addresses the teaching of braille reading and writing in the context of general literacy. Employing theoretical frameworks and approaches to teaching print reading and writing and practical applications for instruction in braille literacy, this innovative book can be used both in university training programs and by practicing educators working with braille learners. Foundations of Braille Literacy also includes perspectives on literacy, the history of literacy for people who are blind, the learning processes of people who are blind, and assessment of braille literacy.

What Is Braille?

Author: Deborah Kent

Publisher: Enslow Publishing, LLC

ISBN: 0766044408

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 48

View: 8062

Many people who are blind learn Braille in order to read. This innovative code allows them to read everything from popular books to maps and signs as well as write their own books? Readers will learn the history of Braille, how it has developed, and how it is used by some young people featured in this book.

For the Benefit of Those Who See

Dispatches from the World of the Blind

Author: Rosemary Mahoney

Publisher: Little, Brown

ISBN: 0316248703

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 7362

"In this intelligent and humane book, Rosemary Mahoney writes of people who are blind....She reports on their courage and gives voice, time and again, to their miraculous dignity."--Andrew Solomon, author of Far From the Tree In the tradition of Oliver Sacks's The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken's international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world's blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular "quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world." Having read FOR THE BENEFIT OF THOSE WHO SEE, you will never see the world in quite the same way again.

Louis Braille

A Touch of Genius

Author: C. Michael Mellor

Publisher: National Braille Press

ISBN: 0939173700

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 133

View: 708

Louis Braille: A Touch of Genius is the first ever, full-color biography to include thirty-one of his extant letters, some written by his own hand, and translated into English for the first time.Three great men were born in the early weeks of January 1809: Abraham Lincoln, Charles Darwin, and Louis Braille. Only one has remained virtually unknown ? the man who invented a means of reading and writing still used today in almost every country in the world, adapted to almost every known language from Albanian to Zulu.Born sighted, Louis Braille accidentally blinded himself at the age of 3. He was lucky enough to be sent to a school for blind children in Paris, one of the first in the world. There, at the age of sixteen, he worked tirelessly on a revolutionary system of finger reading that became braille. He was a talented musician, astute businessman, and genius inventor ? collaborating with another Frenchman to invent the first dot-matrix printer around 1840.

The Human Resources Glossary

The Complete Desk Reference for HR Executives, Managers, and Practitioners

Author: William R. Tracey

Publisher: CRC Press

ISBN: 9781574441604

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 640

View: 9370

The fast-paced world of human resources (HR) management, development, and utilization requires HR professionals to fill many roles and speak many "languages". Finally, the demand for a single authoritative source that compiles and explains the vocabulary of HR practitoners is answered in the Human Resources Glossary. The Glossary defines HR terms and explains their context, use, and managerial implications in 56 of the most important HR areas including:

Guidelines and Games for Teaching Efficient Braille Reading

Author: Myrna R. Olson,Sally S. Mangold,American Foundation for the Blind

Publisher: American Foundation for the Blind

ISBN: 9780891281054

Category: Education

Page: 109

View: 2180

These unique guidelines and games provide ideas for adapting a general reading program to the needs of braille readers and enriching early instruction in braille that are based on research in the areas of rapid reading and precision teaching. Classroom teachers and anyone working with children who are blind or visually impaired will find this classic handbook an invaluable resource.